Skip to content

To the White House and Back!

May 2, 2012

I’ve been on an incredible journey over the last few months so I thought I’d update with where I’ve been and what I’ve been saying:

The year started with a trip to the White House where I was one of 14 members of the African Diaspora honoured as ‘Champions of Change’ by the Obama White House and State Department. As part of the honor I got to contribute a post to the White House blog about my thoughts on African women’s leadership and my work with Akili Dada!  You can catch a video of my brief speech on Youtube

Before that I also had the honour to speak about the importance of educating girls at the World Affairs Council of Northern California.  I got to share the podium with Ann Cotton, the founder of CAMFED and Joel Samoff of Stanford University.  You can catch an audio recording of the evening’s conversation online.

I have a number of other past speaking engagements to share and new ones coming up including speaking at the Commonwealth Club of California tonight and at Stanford University tomorrow night and I’ll be posting any recordings of what I say when I’m out and about on my blog here.  Its just that I’m realizing that I do so much of my clearest thinking when I speak than when I sit in a quiet room alone with a computer :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

